Reading Time: < 1 minute

Wisconsin Watch partners with Gigafact to produce fact briefs — bite-sized fact checks of trending claims. Read our methodology to learn how we check claims.


Wisconsin U.S. Rep. Scott Fitzgerald, a Republican who represents Milwaukee suburbs including Waukesha, West Bend and Brookfield, objected to certifying the 2020 election results in two states. 

Joined by Republican Rep. Tom Tiffany, who represents a majority of northern Wisconsin, the two representatives objected to certifying vote counts for Arizona and Pennsylvania. 

To be considered, objections need support from at least one representative and one senator. From there, the House and Senate must vote on the objection. 

The objections on the Arizona and Pennsylvania elections — voted on just hours after pro-Trump protesters overran the U.S. Capitol on Jan. 6, 2021— ultimately were unsuccessful. Still, 147 Republicans voted to decertify the result of one or both state’s elections. The rest of Wisconsin’s congressional delegation, Republican and Democrat, voted against decertification.

Vice President Mike Pence declared Joe Biden the official winner of the 2020 election on Jan. 7, 2021.

This Fact Brief is responsive to conversations such as this one.


AP News: GOP Reps. Tiffany, Fitzgerald object to certifying Biden win

USA Today: The members of Congress who objected to Joe Biden’s Electoral College win amid Capitol riot

Vox: 147 Republican lawmakers still objected to the election results after the Capitol attack

Creative Commons License

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, under a Creative Commons license.

Erin Gretzinger joined Wisconsin Watch as a reporting intern in May 2022. She is a journalism and French major at UW-Madison and will graduate in spring 2023. Erin previously worked for the Wisconsin State Journal as a reporting intern and served as the 2021-22 editor-in-chief at The Badger Herald. She is a recipient of the Jon Wolman Scholarship, the Sigrid Schultz Scholarship and the Joseph Sicherman Award Fund for her academic and reporting work.