Reading Time: < 1 minute

Wisconsin Watch partners with Gigafact to produce fact briefs — bite-sized fact checks of trending claims. Read our methodology to learn how we check claims.


In League of United Latin American Citizens v. Perry, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled there are no provisions in the Constitution or federal law prohibiting states from redrawing their congressional or legislative maps at any time. However, they must redistrict at least every 10 years after the national census is completed.

Mid-decennial redistricting has occurred several times in recent years. Courts have voided maps mid-decade and ordered legislatures to draft new maps or imposed new maps themselves. In the last census period, courts invalidated maps drawn for Florida, North Carolina, Virginia and Pennsylvania.

Wisconsin’s current maps, drawn by Republicans, are considered some of the most heavily gerrymandered in the nation. Although the state is split nearly evenly between the two major parties, beginning in 2023, Republicans will occupy six of Wisconsin’s eight U.S. House seats and roughly two-thirds in the state Legislature.


Justia: League of United Latin American Citizens v. Perry, 548 U.S. 399 (2006)

Bloomberg Government: Congressional Redistricting

State Democracy Research Initiative: Explainer: Wisconsin’s New State Legislative Maps Compare Unfavorably to Other Court-Adopted Maps on Partisan Equity

Wisconsin Public Radio: Wisconsin Supreme Court chooses maps drawn by Republicans in new redistricting decision

Wisconsin Public Radio: Wisconsin Republicans fail to achieve veto-proof majority

Google Books: U.S. House races Wisconsin

Avatar photo

Erin Gretzinger / Wisconsin WatchReporting Intern

Erin Gretzinger joined Wisconsin Watch as a reporting intern in May 2022. She is a journalism and French major at UW-Madison and will graduate in spring 2023. Erin previously worked for the Wisconsin State Journal as a reporting intern and served as the 2021-22 editor-in-chief at The Badger Herald. She is a recipient of the Jon Wolman Scholarship, the Sigrid Schultz Scholarship and the Joseph Sicherman Award Fund for her academic and reporting work.